Alison Stuart

Alison Stuart (also writing as A.M. Stuart) began her writing career halfway up a tree in the school playground with a notebook and a dream to one day be a writer.

Today she is both a traditionally published and independent author of historical mysteries (writing as A.M. Stuart). Her popular Harriet Gordon Mystery series is set in Singapore in 1910.

As Alison Stuart she writes historical fiction and short stories set in England and Australia and across different periods of history. She is best known for THE POSTMISTRESS,THE GOLDMINER'S SISTER and THE HOMECOMING, stories set in the Victorian goldfields in the 1870s.

Now a fulltime writer, in her past life Alison worked as a lawyer across a variety of disciplines including the military and emergency services. She has lived in Africa and Singapore and travels extensively - all for research of course!   

Life in, and connection to, Hobsons Bay

Born in Kenya, Alison has been resident in Hobsons Bay for nearly forty years, with a short interval in Singapore. There is nowhere else in the world she would like to live!

Alison was married in Williamstown and her two sons were born and brought up in Williamstown. Alison has been closely involved with the Williamstown community - through creche, kinder ,school committees and local churches. She is an active member of the Hobsons Bay Homegrown Authors group and has appeared at the Williamstown Literary Festival.


  • The Postmistress - Harlequin MIRA 2019
  • Singapore Sapphire (Harriet Gordon Mysteries Book 1) – Berkley (Penguin USA) 2019
  • The Goldminer's Sister – June 2020
  • Revenge in Rubies (Harriet Gordon Mysteries Book 2) – September 2020
  • Lord Somerton's Heir (2013),
  • The Guardians of the Crown series:
    • By the Sword (first published 2007, republished 2015)
    • The King's Man (first published 2007, republished Sep 2015)
    • Exiles' Return (to be released Feb 2016)

Digital and Print

  • Gather the Bones (2012),
  • Her Rebel Heart (first published as Claiming the Rebel's Heart 2014, re released 2015)
  • Secrets in Time (2013)
  • And Then Mine Enemy (2016)

Find Alison's books


  • By the Sword: 2008 EPIC Award Best Historical Romance; GATHER THE BONES was awarded an Honourable Mention in the 2012 RONE Award and a finalist in the 2012 Australian Romance Readers, the 2013 CRW Award of Excellence, 2012 GDRWA Booksellers Best Award and the 2014 EPIC Awards.
  • Secrets in Time: was nominated for the 2014 RONE Awards; LORD SOMERTON'S HEIR was a finalist in the 2014 Australian Romance Readers Awards.


Facebook logo Twitter logo.png