CEO & Directors

The Corporate Management Team comprises the Chief Executive Officer and three Directors.

Chief Executive Officer, Aaron van Egmond

Aaron van Egmond

Bachelor Business (Marketing and International Trade), Certificate IV (Business Excellence)

Aaron commenced his role as CEO at Hobsons Bay City Council on 12 June 2018.

Aaron has been a strong leader in the Victorian local government sector for 15 years. Aaron previously served as CEO of Hepburn Shire Council for six years where he had a strong focus on project delivery, financial sustainability, operational efficiency and occupational health and safety. He also focussed on significant improvements in customer service and community engagement.

Prior to his time at Hepburn Shire, he spent nine years at Towong Shire Council, where he served as Director of Development Services overseeing economic development, tourism, local laws, planning, building, environmental health and major projects.

Prior to commencing in local government, Aaron worked in the construction industry as a project manager throughout Victoria and New South Wales. He also brought his entrepreneurial skills to the development and operation of his own businesses focussed on construction, maintenance and property development.

Aaron oversees the entire operation of the Council, as guided by the strategic decisions of the Mayor and Councillors of Hobsons Bay. The Communications, Engagement and Advocacy teams all report directly to the CEO.


Director Corporate Services, Andrew McLeod

Andrew McLeod
Andrew is a highly experienced Corporate Services leader, with an extensive executive background in Corporate Services, Human Resources, Information Technology, Business Improvement, Audit and Risk, Governance and Customer Service within complex political environments in both the private and public sectors. He brings a strong pedigree in change and innovation, particularly in the digital space, to Hobsons Bay City Council. In addition to his commercial experience, Andrew has in excess of 10 years’ experience in Local Government in NSW and Victoria. 

The Director Corporate Services is responsible for:
  • Corporate Integrity (Legal Counsel)
  • Finance
  • Governance and Local Laws
  • Digital Services
  • People and Culture
  • Learning Communities


Director Sustainable Communities, Rachel Lunn

Rachel Lunn
Rachel is the Director of Sustainable Communities, encompassing all of Council’s Community, Arts and Culture, Economy, Strategy, Urban Planning and Development Enforcement services. She is an experienced and ethical executive leader of Strategy, Environment, Development and Community programs and projects in both state and local government as well as in the private sector.



The Director Sustainable Communities is responsible for:

  • Community Life
  • Strategy, Economy and Sustainability
  • Planning, Building and Health
  • Arts, Culture and Community 


Director Infrastructure and City Services, Matthew Irving

Matthew has worked in local government across the last 15 years with extensive experience in project management, asset management, strategic business and community planning, service delivery, and placemaking in local communities.

He is a strategic and innovative leader that seeks creative solutions to complex problems, particularly in regional communities and lean organisations.

With a Bachelor of Civil and Structural Engineering and Graduate Diploma of Business Management (Executive), Matthew enjoys the challenge of working with local communities to create healthy and thriving cities and towns.


The Director Infrastructure and City Services is responsible for:

  • Capital Works
  • City Services
  • Active Communities and Assets
  • Strategic Infrastructure