Andy Griffiths

Andy Griffiths author photo (homegrown Hobsons Bay

Andy Griffiths is one of Australia’s most popular children’s authors. He has written more than 25 books, including short stories, comic novels, nonsense verse, picture books, plays and a creative writing guide for students and teachers.

Andy is best known for the JUST! books, The Day My Bum Went Psycho and The Treehouse series. Over the last 20 years Andy’s books have been New York Times bestsellers, adapted for the stage and television, won more than 50 children’s choice awards and sold more than 5 million copies worldwide.

Andy is a passionate advocate for literacy and is an ambassador for both the Indigenous Literacy Foundation—which provides books and literacy resources to remote Indigenous communities around Australia—and The Pyjama Foundation, a literacy-based mentoring program for children in foster care.

Life in, and connection to, Hobsons Bay

I have lived in Williamstown for 10 years now. It not only provides a wonderful, quiet space in which to write my books, but a beautiful setting in which to run, ride and enjoy the coastal marine parks.


"Bad" series

  • The Bad Book (2004)
  • The Very Bad Book (2010)
  • Killer Koalas from Outer Space (2012)


"Just!" series

  • Just Tricking (1997)
  • Just Annoying (1998)
  • Just Stupid! (1999)
  • Just Crazy! (2000)
  • Just Disgusting! (2002)
  • Just Shocking! (2007)
  • Just Macbeth! (July 2009)
  • Just Doomed! (April 2012)
  • Just Three for Free- contains Playing Dead (Just Tricking!), In the Shower with Andy (Just Annoying!) and Runaway Pram (Just Stupid!)


"Schooling Around" series

  • Treasure Fever! (2008)
  • Pencil of Doom! (2008)
  • Mascot Madness! (2009)
  • Robot Riot! (2009)


"Treehouse" series

  • The 52-Storey Treehouse (2014)
  • The 39-Storey Treehouse (2013)
  • The 26-Storey Treehouse (2012)

The 13-Storey Treehouse (2011)

"Bum" series

  • The Day My Bum Went Psycho (2001)
  • Zombie Bums from Uranus (2003)
  • Bumageddon: The Final Pongflict (2005)


"A&T's World of Stupidity" series

  • What Bumosaur is That? (2007)
  • What Body Part is That? (2011)


Books published by Pan Macmillan.



  • ABA Nielsen Bookdata Booksellers Choice Award 2014
  • Australian Book Industry Award: Book of the Year 2014



Twitter logo.png