Council elections

The Council election was held on Saturday 24 October 2020.

The successful candidates were:

Cherry Lake Ward:

Cr Tony Briffa JP

Cr Daria Kellander

Strand Ward:

Cr Peter Hemphill

Cr Jonathon Marsden

Cr Pamela Sutton-Legaud

Wetlands Ward:

Cr Diana Grima

Cr Matt Tyler

This year’s election was conducted by postal ballot.

Voting in the 2020 election was compulsory.

For more information regarding the election visit the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) website.

Council Election Donation Returns

Please find attached a summary document of the Council Election Donation Returns(PDF, 172KB).

Section 307 (3) of the Local Government Act 2020 requires the Chief Executive Officer to make a summary of each election campaign donation return to be available on Council’s website.  Noting that section 308 (2) requires this summary to be available on the website until the close of the roll for the next general election in 2024.

Election Period Policy

On 25 August 2020, Council adopted the Hobsons Bay Election Period Policy as per section 69  of the Local Government Act 2020. Section 69 requires Council to include an Election Period Policy in its Governance Rules. The policy sets out procedures to be applied by Council during the election period for a general election.

Hobsons Bay Election Period Policy 2020.pdf(PDF, 386KB)

Political Advertising - Election Signage 

Signage_Advice_Election_2020.pdf(PDF, 348KB)