LeadWest Joint Delegated Committee

Changes to the Local Government Act 2020 (LG Act 2020) resulted in the five LeadWest member Councils of the cities of Hobsons Bay, Brimbank, Maribyrnong, Melton and Wyndham, transitioning from the existing LeadWest Special Committee constituted under section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989 to a Joint delegated committee auspiced under section 64 of the LG Act 2020.

The LeadWest Joint Delegated Committee come into force by an Instrument of Delegation effective 1 August 2021, (which was endorsed by Council on 13 July 2021). The Instrument will remain in force until Council determines to vary or revoke it.

Meetings of the newly formed LeadWest Joint Delegated Committee (the Committee) will be held quarterly and conducted in accordance with the procedures set out in the LG Act 2020, the Terms of Reference and the Governance Rules of Hobsons Bay City Council. Accordingly, meetings will be open to the public in accordance with section 66 of the LG Act 2020.

The purpose of the Committee will be to oversee the preparation and implementation of the LeadWest Committee’s Strategic Plan and identified sub-projects as adopted and agreed by the member councils from time to time. Further, the committee will identify and implement actions that support sustainable growth and development in the area covered by the municipalities of the member councils.

Meeting dates for 2021-22





30 March 2022
3.30pm – 5.30pm

Brimbank City Council


15 June 2022
3.30pm – 5.30pm

Wyndham City Council


21 September 2022
3.30pm – 5.30pm

Melton City Council


14 December 2022

3.30pm – 5.30pm

Maribyrnong City Council