New Residential Zones

New Residential Zones

The Victorian Government introduced New Residential Zones into the Victorian Planning System on 1 July 2013. The new zones replaced the Residential 1, 2 and 3 zones with three new zones as follows:

  • Neighbourhood Residential Zone (NRZ) – restricts housing growth in areas where change is not identified
  • General Residential Zone (GRZ) – preserves neighbourhood character while allowing modest housing growth
  • Residential Growth Zone (RGZ) – allows higher density development and encourages more diverse housing types

All councils across Victoria are required to implement the new zones however as an interim measure, on the 13 June 2014, the Victorian Government applied the General Residential Zone (GRZ) to all land in Hobsons Bay that had previously been zoned Residential 1 Zone or Residential 2. The GRZ is similar to the previous Residential 1 Zone which accounted for almost all of the residential land in Hobsons Bay.

The Council is currently preparing the supporting background information to justify the location of the new zones, and is committed to ensuring that the community and key stakeholders are continuously informed and engaged about the implementation.

For further information please visit

Rate this page

Was the information useful to you?